Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

Strawberry Picking 5-7-11 May 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — queen620 @ 4:25 am

Spent:  $73.

I also bought 2 tomatos & a cuccumber so really spent $70 or so on strawberries!

56lbs x $1.25= $70

Savings… not so much since they regularly go on sale for $1.25-$2. lb this time of year.

My real savings comes from the jam that I make.

We made 48 pints (16oz) of jam:

*Strawberries: 45lbs or so= $56.

*roughly 10lbs sugar$1.98 (bought 2 yrs ago @ $.99)

*15 packs of pectin $25 (bought last year Walmart)

*1 & 1/2 bottle white grape juice $3.50

________________________________________

roughly $87 for 48 pints jam:

If I were buying for everyday consumption I would only buy Polaner All Fruit-  it is one of the few on the market that doesn’t contain High Fructose Corn Syrup.

Polaner goes on sale frequently for $2 a TEN oz jar so I would need 77 jars to equal my 48pints.

77 jars x $2= $144.  so my savings would be $57.

Now I might find some coupons here and there, but for a large family that can easily consume 1 pint a week that is difficult to depend on with HT limits on number of coupons I can use.    Another added benefit is knowing where our produce came from, how it was prepared & REALLY IT JUST PLAIN TASTES BETTER!

We spent about 7 hours picking and processing our jam so we averaged making $8 an hour for our work, no that isn’t the best pay out, but trust me if you ever eat our jam  you would understand it is worth far more than Polaner’s.   We aren’t talking Smuckers or Welch’s quality- this is like what your grandma would have made.  It is just plain delicious!

 

Leave a Reply

