Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

Harris Teeter 8-9-10 August 11, 2010

Filed under: Harris Teeter — queen620 @ 3:33 pm

Spent:  $29.77

Saved:  $149.80

Total Value:  $179.57

83% savings

Cereal or poptarts anyone???  Yep, I bought more Kellogg’s items.  I “rolled”  my $10 CATALINA coupon 4 times tonight.  “ROLLING” is when I buy items that print out an OnYour Next Order Coupon and then do another transaction.   I have so much cereal & poptarts it is crazy.

So, aside from stockpiling cereal why would anyone want this much cereal & poptarts???  Well, b/c I was using coupons for the poptarts & nutrigrain bars it was leaving “overage” in each of my next transactions.  Overage is when a coupon covers more than the price of the item.  Harris Teeter won’t give me cash back for my overage so I have to “USE” it up, AKA buy more stuff and let the “OVERAGE” pay for them.   That is what was happening.  Yes, I spent money out of pocket b/c often I wasn’t sure how close it would be so I was trying to make sure I was going way over the OVERAGE!

On this transaction I had already split my orders up, but I didn’t do it very evenly so I got to the last few items and I was adding my Mom’s items in so I wouldn’t lose my “overage.”     My above total was actual just under $20 after my Mom paid me for her items I had rung up with my stuff.  It was a great night!

As a nice perk the poptart boxes had secret codes inside and after collecting 5 we can get a FREE movie ticket up to $12!  So the FREE poptarts keep giving!

How sweet is that!

 

Leave a Reply

