Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

Farmer’s Market 7-3-10 July 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — queen620 @ 2:29 pm

Spent $67 fruit & veggies

Spent:  $20 in pectin and other supples

Saved: $112

Total Value:  HOMEMADE = PRICELESS

* Peaches 35lbs $7

*Blackberries 1 1/2 gallons $48

*Corn on Cob $4.

*Seedless Watermelon $4.

*Sweet Potatoes $4.

********************************************************************

Had a great trip to the farmer’s market.  We decided to spend a little more on the blackberries than we spend at the Upick farm.  It has been so hot the thought of going out with all 4 kids to pick berries isn’t very appealing!

*We finished with 20 pints peach jam

& 15 or so pints blackberry syrup

*So how is that price wise???

I normally only buy ALL FRUIT SPREADS like polaner all fruit so at $.28 an oz –

(price came from Harris Teeter ExpressLane, yes I know I wouldn’t pay that price I would wait for a sale, but I also won’t skimp on this so if I were out I would pay that price.)

Each 16 oz pint would cost $4.46each

$4.46 x 20 pints=$89

Including pectin, peaches and canning supplies ( already had the jars so only had to buy lids)=

$17 or so for 20 pints

$89- $17= $72 savings over the year

**********************************************************************************

Blackberry Syrup if I am comparing the blueberry/boysenberry syrup price on HTexpress Lane at $.39 an ounce

I would have spent $94.  I spent $54 for my 15 pints

$94-$54 = $40 savings

We intentionally made lots of syrup this year so we would be able to give some away at Christmas!

I also like knowing exactly what is in our syrups and jams.

 

Leave a Reply

