Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

STRAWBERRIES 5-1-10 May 3, 2010

Filed under: Garden,Uncategorized — queen620 @ 10:05 am

Spent:  $160

Saved:  $130

Total Value:  $290

44% savings

Okay so I need a way to determine our savings.  I am going to base my savings on strawberries from the store averaging $2. a pound.  I know they go cheaper during this time of the year, but I think this should cover myself okay b/c we frequently  buy frozen strawberries and they might not be as cheap as $2. a pound.

Not all of the strawberries are pictured.

We picked 145lbs of strawberries…

NO, you did not misread that.  I just grabbed lots of bins & had no idea how much volume/weight they would hold!

Our goal was 100lbs, so obviously we hit that 🙂

So what did we do with all of those berries?

We froze about 80-90 lbs of berries and made 24 pints of jam.

The strawberries are taking up about quite a bit of space in my very large chest freezer!

FYI  I didn’t include my savings for making our own jam.  I might come back later and add the potential savings just for my own records!

 

Leave a Reply

