Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

HT 4-19-10 April 21, 2010

Filed under: Harris Teeter — queen620 @ 8:51 am

Spent:  $  28.33

Saved:  $ 68.01

Total Value:  $ 96.24

71% savings

I was on the hunt for more $5.99 diapers b/c after Qn they were $2.99.

That is $2.99 without using ECB / RR to get that price!

I must confess, I really didn’t want to buy more than 2 packs of diapers, I wanted Rainchecks!

And I GOT them.  I went to 3 different stores looking for them and only found sizes/variety I wanted at 1 store.

I kindly asked if I could get separate rainchecks for Pampers & Huggies.  I walked away with a combined RC total of 24!

If we continue using cloth diapers mostly and disposable on Sunday’s for church and a few other times I think I have enough diapers in my stash & RC to make it to when he is potty trained.  🙂

While I was out I decided to buy more chicken.  I must admit that we let our Sam’s membership lapse so I have been a little worried about having enough low cost meat in my freezer.  I had been splitting cases of ground beef & tyson chicken breast with a friend.  This meant that i usually had at least 40 lbs of meat & 20 lbs of chicken at the outset.  We are almost out of all of our last half cases.  So yes, it looks like a lot of chicken, but this week I only bought 18lbs…which is less than I would have bought from Sam’s.  I know we will renew our Sam’s membership b/c my van needs new tires soon, but I didn’t want to waste our membership when I haven’t really been shopping there.  Since grocerygaming in November we have only been to Sam’s once, right b/4 Christmas.  I know I am paying slightly higher for milk & eggs, but I get so many other things for cheaper that it is worth my time.

*Sorry forgot to mention the 100 calorie cheese packs

I ran into FL on Sunday looking for blinkie coupons…$.75 off one pack

The blinkies for FL have a different code than what is at HT and will double when scanned.

HT had a promo, buy 3 save $3. instantly.   I used 3x $.75 Qn for each pack=

$.93 for 3 packs or $.31 each!!!

I ate a pack on the way home, not great cheese, but I mainly bought them to go in Ethan’s bottle bag when I send food/snacks to church.  Those are just the right size for him!

*Bought more yogurt!  All four of my kids have 1 yogurt a day and often Brad & I have it daily.

I have been trying to find whole milk yogurt for Ethan b/c he needs the higher fat content.  Dannon & Yoplait have lowfat yogurt that is made with skim milk, but it doesn’t have much fat.   I know Stoneyfield has a whole milk yogurt, but it is $.89 each.  I might have to suck it up and start buying it or experiment again with making yogurt.  I have tried making it and it was easy to make, but sometimes it didn’t thicken so it was more like a drinkable yogurt.  That was okay for smoothies, but it wasn’t what I was going for.  It might be time to revisit yogurt making!

 

Leave a Reply

