Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

Flower’s Bakery Store April 17, 2010

Filed under: Flower's Bakery — queen620 @ 7:56 am

Spent:  $5.72

Saved:  $ 6.00 at least

50% at least!

that is my guess for statistical purposes 🙂

Okay, I know saving on bread my not excite everyone, but it does me!   The boys and I were in HighPoint and we were going to go to Harris Teeter.  We also needed to eat lunch.   The closest subway that accepted our coupons from the attraction guide was the one at Adam’s Farm.

(Kids and I ate for $8.47 at Subway!  McDonalds can’t beat that!!!)

So we were driving from High Point on High Point Rd/Greensboro Rd I think and when we drove through Jamestown I saw the bakery store.  I decided to run b/c bread was on my HT list.  I was so excited to find that our favorite Nature’s Own Bread was $.99 each!  This bread doesn’t have any major junk in it and seems to be rather healthy.   It is my preferred bread to buy when it is on sale…or not!   When it is on sale I usually pay $1.75 or so unless there is a coupon to match with the sale making it cheaper.

Of course it was about to expire, but that doesn’t bother me.  When we get home from shopping our bread normally goes in the fridge anyway.  When we need a new loaf we pull from the fridge in the basement.   This allows our family to buy enough bread for at least a week without having to stop by the store all the time.  If you like super fresh, stick to the roof of your mouth, bread this scenario might not work for you.  But none of us like it that fresh so we are okay!

When I got back to the van I added the address to my Garmin so I should be able to go back more often.  I don’t think I would go every week, but maybe once or twice a month.  If I went once a month or so then I could freeze the extra loaves until we need them.

 

Leave a Reply

