Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

Food Lion 4-6-10 April 13, 2010

Filed under: Food Lion — queen620 @ 12:46 pm

Sorry lost receipt if I find it I will put the exact info.

Here is what I remember…

Paas egg dye $1.25 clearance

4x Snuggle fabric softener @ $2.99

-4x $3.00 Qn

Spent:  $2.50 or so…lost receipt

Saved:  $13.oo or so …lost receipt!

I had to pay tax on the full retail amount!  Still I hot deal considering 1 fabric softener would cost more than this!

********************************************************************************************************

I just wanted to add that these 4 items of fabric softener will last YEARS and here is why

I almost never use it .  I have a HE top loader and the liquid stuff is horrible to use in it, so I use it very sparingly.

I have also started making my own laundry detergent.   The recipe can be found at http://www.duggars.com  I make the liquid version and I have been very happy with it.  I have been using it almost a month.  I made 10 gallons and gave a bunch away.   The clothes come out so clean that fabric softeners aren’t necessary in the  dryer.  I made 10 gallons/320 loads for my HE machine for around $3.oo. It took less than an hour of direct hands on time to make.

My future loads will be free.  A friend bought a gallon and insisted on paying $5.00 for it.  I used that $5. and bought more supplies.

*************************************************************************************************************************

So why would I buy fabric softener if we don’t use much?  I do use the liquid to make my own “homemade febreeze.”

I add 1-2 tablespoons of favorite fabric softener to an old febreeze bottle.  Fill the rest up with hot water.  Swish & spray away.

You will need to swish every time you use again and you might need to spray more often maybe every day or so b/c it isn’t as strong as real febreeze.  But this does mean is that I can enjoy the fresh scent of “homemade febreeze” anytime and save the real stuff for when it is really needed!

 

Leave a Reply

