Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

Harris Teeter 3-27-10 March 27, 2010

Filed under: Harris Teeter — queen620 @ 4:44 am

Drum Roll Please

Spent:  $20.50

Saved:  $105.70

Total Value:  $ 126.20

84% SAVINGS

+got back $4.  Qn for next order 🙂

Alright so here are the details, I used $6.50 in catalina Qn’s that printed out from earlier purchases, so my cash OOP would have $27.00 , with a savings of 80%, so still not to shabby if I hadn’t had that store credit!

My goal this morning was to get in and out.  I had Noah and Davis with me and we worked quickly to fill our carts with CHEAP items!

*6x French’s mustard FREE

*French’s spicy mustard FREE

* Mission Tortillas FREE

*Lysol toilet bowl cleaner FREE

*Contry Crock sticks FREE

*6 Barilla Pasta FREE

*6x  Smart Balance PB $.89

*JFG coffee $.04

*Gold Medal bread flour $.24

*Muffin mixes $1.25 or so…sorry forgot!

*6 Pilsbury items, sorry don’t remember exact deal except it printed out a $4. OnYourNextOrder (ONYO) coupon

5 pizza dough @ $.62 each

1 cinnamon roll FREE

= So I paid $3.10 for the above items and got back $4. Qn for buying the promo items!

I have another $.95 off cinnamon roll Qn and plenty for other refrigerated items, The deal won’t all be free, but should be pretty good after $4. off

*Hefty plates $.99

*2 Lysol sanitizing wipes BOGO, had $1. off Qn for 1

I was only going to buy 1, b/c my qn only required me to buy one, but I was informed that they are changing how the register deals with BOGO items, so that I must now buy both items to get the BOGO price and can only use 1 Qn per BOGO set.  I point this out b/c often I get items for free b/c the Qn might double or triple up to the 50% off price.  But in the instance of the Lysol wipes, I would have only paid $.60 or so for one, but b/c I had to buy two it only took $1. off of $3.29= $2.29 for two or $1.15 each.  That is nearly double per item as opposed to only buying what the Qn says.  I am not sure if this was just for triples or what.

I will have to see how this plays out.  I am becoming very loyal to Harris Teeter and often buy things that I know are cheaper at Walmart or Aldi, b/c I am already there and don’t want to take everyone to another store.  That is the goal of HT and many other stores doubling Qn’s they are willing to lose some money on a few items in the hopes that you will  buy other higher priced items there.  I do that almost every week when it comes to produce and milk.  I know Sam’s is cheaper and so is Aldi; but that takes time and gas to go to another store.    So for now I keep over paying on a few items.  So basically I use my “coupon savings” to cover the cost of the higher priced items.  My goal is to stay around 60% savings for everything.    Most weeks we are hitting that goal.  I am sure the more I do this I can cut back and only purchase the lowest priced items.  Right now we are averaging $700-750 a month for all SIX of us and that does include diapers and formula.  I am also building a HUGE stockpile of grocery and I am sure over time I will be able to drop that price down.  My goal would be to spend $600 a month for everything.  I know that is very doable.   That was our budget b/4 Ethan was born and we weren’t stocking up on food like we are now.    My overarching goal is to not spend more than $8,000 on food, paper products, pet food, health & beauty items this year.  I am feeling confident we will be able to do that.    I have been willing to go over my budget some weeks when I see there is a GREAT deal on an item that I can stockpile.  Some weeks it has been huggies wipes or pamper’s diapers this week I think I might go over b/c of triple coupons at harris teeter and then heading over to Food Lion to get some REALLY cheap toilet paper.  (I am waiting for my extra coupons to come in the mail!)

 

Leave a Reply

