Saving Green with the Queen!

The Queen of Coupons that is!

HT SUPER DOUBLES 2-17-2010 February 17, 2010

Filed under: Harris Teeter — queen620 @ 10:55 am

Spent $105.21

Saved $209.88

total value: $315.09

67% savings

This required a lot of time clipping and perusing my coupon stash and the internet.   My two favorite websites for savings are GroceryGame.com & SoutherSavers.com  Most of today’s info came from SouthernSavers.com GroceryGame.com has THE BEST LIST hands down, however it doesn’t come out until Friday noon.  The sale started on Wednesday.  If I had waited until Friday evening most of the FREE of SUPER CHEAP stuff would have been gone.  Yes, I could get a raincheck (RC) but that doesn’t mean I will save as much.  The bulk of today’s savings came b/c of it being SUPER DOUBLES…that means that Qn’s up to $`1.98 will DOUBLE.  So instead of saving $1.  I save $2.00; if it was a Qn for $1.50 now I saved $3.00.  That means the savings add up fast.  I was able to get lots of big items for far cheaper than I normally pay at Sam’s or Aldi.  I bought each baby of Puppy Chow for $5.99 for ~20lbs.  I think I will buy more when I go later in week!

FREE FOOD

The above items were free after the sale price and Qn.  I have bought Quaker Rice cakes for free b/4.  That Qn was only for $.75, so $1.50 after it doubles.  The rice cakes go on sale for $1.50 each.   My goal this week was to use as many higher dollar Qn –Qn over $1.  that don’t normally double.  With that being said, these are GREAT occasional snacks for Ethan, so since we are out, I went ahead and bought them today.  I don’t know when the sale will run again.  They might not be on sale next week or in two weeks when I need them.  One thing I have really been able to do is get further away from buying items merely out of need.  The bulk of my weekly shopping is b/c it is the best price, it is something we would use, or it was free.   Of course I still have to buy milk, bread, eggs and fresh produce on an as needed basis, but that is about it!  When I am making my menu I look at what I already have on hand and occasionally I have to add a few items to the weekly list to cook certain dishes.

Free Food or less than $1.00

Here is a brief list of items that I bought for free or less than a $1.!

2 packs stride gum

10 boxes of barrilla pasta: sale was buy 2 @ $1.50 each get 3 free, final price for each was $.60 I think I will buy more when I go back later int he week.  This was a GREAT price!

Two boxes Kelloggs Smart Start Cereal $.09 each!!!!

7 boxes Rasin Bran/Raisin Bran Extra$.25-$.40 each

11 cans Progresso Soup @ ~$.45 each

Dole Pinapple 8oz $.16 each

Ken’s marinade $.76 Each

6-Borden Cheese @ $.21 each

6 Beachnut Stage 3 @ $.33. each

Beachnut crackers @ $.34 each

(don’t normally buy these but will be looking for more later in week!)

Most of the yogurt was between $.50-$.75 each

I am sure I missed a few things, but as you can see most of my orders were less than a dollar.  The remainder were high dollar items that we gotten for much less.

2 Hormel Pork Tenderloin @ $2.49 for 27 oz

this was a BOGO + Qn…found another  Qn will look for another one!

Gorton Fish Fillets(not my favorite, but easy meal!)

2 for $5.00, once again that was a BOGO + Qn

Quilted Northern 9 MEGA ROLL= 24 regular roll! $3.99

Plumrose bacon $1.99 (have gotten bacon cheaper, but only buy $.50 -$.75..this is a situation where I don’t want to end up passing up an okay price  and then need bacon b/4 it is at its rock bottom price.

Wholly Gaucomole Salsa flavor or something…bought this last month, it is the best Gaucomole EVER.  We all loved it…if I had bought the smaller plain only package it would have been free, but I still only paid $1.99 and talk about a great addition to all of the tortillas I scored last week 🙂

I am sure I have forgotten a few deals, there were plenty of great buys.  I am on my way to clip more Qn so I can go again tonight!

Stay tuned for more!!

 

One Response to “HT SUPER DOUBLES 2-17-2010”

  1. You are doing a FABULOUS job!

    Just wanted to let you know that the Grocery Game lists on THURSDAY for special events like SUPER DOUBLES or TRIPLES and AGAIN on Sunday for the new coupons…YAY!!!


Leave a Reply

